Tags

,

Last December I wrote about my mother here when I visited her for what would be the final time.  We thought then that her passing was imminent.  But with the loving care given to her by my sister Nina and Nina’s husband John, along with attentive nurses (one of them my mother’s niece), Mom managed to stay with us another five months.

The call came just before 7 am today.  Mom’s made the final passage and is now in God’s heaven.  Her birthday was 9/11.  Today is her new birthday. The Pearly Gates have been flung open wide for Pauline, I’m sure.

We pray that her two dearest wishes — that she be with her parents again and that she cradles in her arms Nanette, the tiny little girl she birthed stillborn and never saw or held, have come true.  She told my sister Nina some days ago that she saw them all in a dream that was very real to her, and it made her happy and looking forward to being with them for eternity. If God is merciful as we know He is, Mom is with her loved ones, living with angels.

Thank you for everything you’ve done for me, Mom.  Thank you for your unconditional love. Rest in blissful peace, chere Maman.  Je t’aime beaucoup.